Hon. Chris Hassan emerges chairman PDP Plateau state amidst political tension

3 weeks 18 hours ago #7958 by patrickd

The former deputy chairman Northern Zone of the Plateau state chapter of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) Hon. Chris Hassan has been elected as the chairman of the Plateau state chapter of the party in the state congress of the party held on 29th August, 2020 under controversial and dusty atmosphere of serious political tension and uncertainties. Chris Hassan scored 1649 votes to emerge winner beating his closest rival Hon Bitrus Kaze who scored 22 votes to emerge as a runner up in the election. Other contenders for the chairmanship position of state chapter of the party were Hon Aminu Zang–0 votes and Ngo Monica Gwom—13 votes.

The election went peacefully under tight security and strict compliance to covid 19 protocols; entrance to the main venue of the congress, Langfield Leisure Park, Reyfield, Jos was restricted to only delegates, relevant stakeholders and accredited authorised persons.

Before the election was kick started, the Plateau state chairman of the state congress committee of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Major Gen. Amnon Kalayi Kwaskebe, assured of a level playing ground for all aspirants contesting various positions at the State congress.

“We have the mandate of the National Working Committee of the PDP to conduct the state congress to elect effective leadership of the party for the purpose of returning power to the people in 2023.

“Since we came yesterday, we have discussed with the new state caretaker committee led by Sen. Suleiman Adoke and we are satisfied with the briefing and the arrangement for the exercise.

“The delegates will be allowed to vote the candidates of their choice without any form of intimidation and harrassment. Kwaskebe stated.

Meanwhile, information available to viewpoint shows that the following candidates were returned unopposed as announced by the chairman of the state congress election committee, Maj Gen Amnon Kalayi Kwaskebe:

Abdullahi Husieni–Assistant Secretary – Central Zone.
Hon Felix Peinswang–Assistant Secretary – Southern Zone.
Legal Adviser–Barr Binchen Jantur.
Jonathan Pwajok–Assistant Organising Secretary.
Rindap Nansop–Assistant Organising Secretary – Southern Zone.
Tapwa Goma Kubut–Assistant Treasurer Central Zone.
Bolchit Amos–Assistant Treasurer Southern Zone.
Victoria Dingse Markus–Assistant Women leader Central Zone.
Christy Nyam–Assistant Women leader Northern Zone.
Pam John Mark–Assistant Youth leader Northern Zone.
Emmanuel John Tama–Assistant Youth Leader Southern Zone.
Furthermore, the other positions as announced by the state congress election committee chairman showed the following results:

State Deputy Chairman:
Captain Bitrus Golen–1585
Hon. Amos Gombi–23

State Women Leader:
Mrs Martha Dakur–1356
Mrs Christiana Sunkur–155

State Secretary:
Hon. Emmanuel Tuang–1592
Iliya Zakari–10

State Organising Secretary:
Hon. Gwot Yakubu Chocho–1495
Bisidi Elisha–8

State PRO:
John Akans–1520
Emmanuel Macham–22

State Treasurer:
Ismaila Jibrin Abubakar–1385
Adamu Abubakar–16

State Assistant Legal Adviser:
Barr. Panshak Dakyen–1475
Barr. Kruslat–8

State Auditor:
Basil Piapung–54.
Angela Shinkur–1470.

State Financial Secretary:
James Pam Steven–15.
James Agok Garba–31.
Hon Mary Adar Gar–1374.

State Youth Leader:
Norbert Lankwap–7.
Nantip Laktam Pandur–1,472.

Vice Chairman Northern Zone:
Arch Dachollom Dahoro–290.
Hon Davou Mang–1397.

Vice Chairman Central Zone:
Jeremiah Satmark–1239
Benedict Shiknugul–404

Vice Chairman Southern Zone:
Simon Dashe–1522
Hon. Nanman Darko–11

Assistant Youth Leader Central Zone:
Madaki Lilian–12.
Istifanus Ayuba–0.
Micheal Abi Angwai–1,047.

State Assistant Auditor:
Gunat Mangut Mapis–20.
Maton Mahli Adams–1459.

State Assistant PRO:
Umar Tijani–138
Alh. Garba Yaro Mairake–1,076

Assistant Organising Secretary Central Zone:
Justina John–1,033
Emmanuel Yilluk–13

Assistant Women Leader Southern Zone:
Rita Tuamrin–1051
Larai Margeret–47

State Ex-officio Northern Zone:
Nanbut Liman–0
Sule Musa Haruna–711.
Lojo Kangyang–32.
Badung Musa Audu–865.
Badung Musa Audu & Sule Musa Haruna returned as Ex-officio1 & 2.

Ex-officio Central Zone:
Esther Paul Gindiri–1,209.
Ambiye Bulus Tsoho–898.
Both of them returned elected as Ex-officio 1 & 2 respectively.

Ex-officio Southern Zone:
Tongfed Kansop–552.
Yahaya Bala–491.
Sarah Matthew–395.
Alhassan Arewa–13.
Tongfed Kansop and Yahaya Bala, returned as Ex-officio 1 & 2.

It is not yet clear whether or not the outcome of this election held during the August 29th congress would be acceptable to all members of the party owing to the fact that some party stalwarts, chieftains as well as the candidate announced as the runner up to the election, Hon. Bitrus Kaze and 24 other candidates who were vying for various positions in the state executive committee alongside their supporters and other members of the party had boycotted the entire exercise citing irregularities in the operations of the caretaker committee mandated to run the state chapter of the party pending when a democratically elected executive committee would be elected. A source from this camp revealed to viewpoint that they are in secret talks with governor Lalong of Plateau state concerning the forthcoming southern zone senatorial by-election and holds an extraordinary emergency meeting on Monday 31st August, 2020 to decide on their next line of action. A lot is left to be seen in the coming days as party faithfuls hope that the gloomy atmosphere gets clear and the dust sufficiently settles.

SOURCE: www.viewpointnigeria.org/breaking-hon-ch...-tension-and-crisis/

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.171 seconds
This Week
This Month
Last Month
All days

Your IP:
22-09-2020 00:17
Go to top